مصادر للمخترعين

 

ما هي الملكية الفكرية؟

الملكية الفكرية هي مجموعة من الإبداعات الفكرية الملموسة أو المجرّدة. وهي قد تشمل:

  • الاختراعات
  • الأعمال الأدبية والفنية
  • الرموز، والأسماء، والصور
  • التصاميم المستخدمة لأغراض تجارية

ويمكن للمخترع أو المبتكر الاستعانة بمجموعة من الأدوات القانونية التي تحمي ملكيته الفكرية من الانتهاكات أو إساءة الاستخدام بما في ذلك حقوق النشر، وبراءات الاختراع، والعلامات التجارية وحقوق التصميم.

براءات الاختراع

تحمي براءات الاختراع الاختراعات الجديدة. وهي وثيقة قانونية مكتوبة يجب على المخترع تسجليها بشكل رسمي. وهي تشرح ماهية الاختراع، وكيفية عمله، ومكونات وكيفية صناعته. ويحظى مالك براءة الاختراع بالحقوق الكاملة المتعلقة باختراعه وبصلاحية منع الآخرين من تصنيع اختراعه أو استغلاله دون إذن مسبق منه.

حقوق النشر

تحمي حقوق النشر الأعمال الفنية والإبداعية مثل الكتب والأعمال الفنية والموسيقية. كما أن الأنظمة والبرامج الإلكترونية محمية بحقوق النشر أيضاً. وتبدأ حقوق النشر بشكل تلقائي بمجرد تدوين أو نشر أو إطلاق عمل فني أو إبداعي ، لذلك فلا حاجة لتسجيلها. وتضمن حقوق النشر لأحد الأعمال عدم إمكانية نسخه أو استخدامه أو إعادة إنتاجه أو نشره ضمن أي وسيلة أو وسط دون إذن مسبق من صاحبه. وعليه، يستطيع صاحب حقوق النشر مثلاً منع تحويل كتابه إلى فيلم أو نشر محتويات قرص مدمج على شبكة الإنترنت.

العلامة التجارية

تحمي العلامات التجارية العلامة المؤسسية وسمعة الجهة المالكة لها. والعلامة التجارية هي إشارة تميز البضائع أو الخدمات بين المتنافسين. ويمكن للعلامة التجارية أن تكون مسجلة أو غير مسجلة. ومن الأصعب مقاضاة أية أطراف تستغل علاماتك التجارية إن لم تكن مسجلة.

حقوق التصميم

حقوق التصميم تحمي التصاميم العامة لمنتج ما أو لإحدى مكوناته. ويمكن لحقوق التصميم أن تكون مسجلة أو غير مسجلة لكنها لم تحظَ حتى الآن بالاعتراف في كل دول العالم. وكما هو الحال مع العلامات التجارية غير المسجلة، يصعب مقاضاة الأطراف التي تستغل تصاميمك في حال لم تكن مسجلة.

كيف يحمي القانون حقوق الملكية الفكرية؟

بالرغم من اختلاف حقوق الملكية الفكرية بين دولة وأخرى، وسريان مفعولها فقط في الدولة التي تسجل فيها، فإن أهمية حقوق الملكية الفكرية دفعت بالكثير من دول العالم للتوافق حول معاهدات دولية جامعة لحقوق الملكية الفكرية في محاول لتوحيد آفاق حماية تلك الحقوق على المستوى الدولي.

كيف أتقدم بطلب تسجيل براءة اختراع؟

يمكن لعملية الحصول على براءة اختراع أن تستغرق الكثير من الوقت. وبشكل مبدئي، يطلب منك محام مختص بتسجيل براءات الاختراع وصفاً دقيقاً لكل المزايا التي يقدمها اختراعك وكيفية استخدامه وآلية الاستفادة منه. بعدها، يعد المحامي مسودة طلب تسجيل براءة الاختراع باسمك. وتكمن براعة هذا المحامي في مدى قدرته على صياغة الطلب الذي يجمع كافة أقسام وخصائص اختراعك، ويحدد كافة الجوانب التي تريد حمايتها في اختراعك. وبمجرد اكتمال الطلب، يتم تقديمه إلى مكتب تسجيل براءات الاختراع في الدولة التي ترغب في حماية اختراعك فيها. بعد ذلك، يقوم المكتب بدراسة طلبك وقد يطلب منك إدخال تعديلات محددة على الطلب قبل الموافقة على تسجيله. وقد تتطلب هذه العملية من سنتين إلى 8 سنوات بحسب الدولة التي تحاول تسجيل براءة اختراعك فيها.

وبمجرد حصولك على براءة الاختراع، سيحظى اختراعك بفترة حماية تمتد حتى 20 عاماً من بداية تسجيله. وعليه، إذا ما تقدمت بطلب تسجيل براءة الاختراع، سيطلع الآخرون على نيتك الحصول على الحماية له (وهو ما قد يتحقق مستقبلاً). ويمكن لك أن تختار تسجيل براءة اختراعك في دول عدة لحمايته فيها. وقد يكون الأمر مكلفاً لكن ضرورياً بالنسبة للاختراعات النوعية والثمينة لحمايتها من التقليد.

ولمزيد من المعلومات حول تسجيل براءات الاختراع، يمكنك زيارة المواقع الإلكترونية التالية:

المكتب الدولي للملكية الفكرية:
www.wipo.int

مكتب الولايات المتحدة لبراءات الاختراع:
http://www.uspto.gov/inventors/index.jsp

المكتب الأوروبي لبراءات الاختراع:
www.EPO.org

قوانين براءات الاختراع في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة:
www.elaws.gov.ae/enlegislations.aspx

حول معاهدة التعاون الدولية لبراءات الاختراع:
www.wipo.int/pct/en/

INVENTOR RESOURCES

What is Intellectual Property (IP)?

IP is a group of tangible or intangible creations of the mind. These include:

  • Inventions
  • Literary and artistic works
  • Symbols, names, images
  • Designs used in commerce

A series of legal tools are at an inventor’s disposal, including the use of copyright, patents, and trademarks to protect their creation and prevent illegal use or breach of their IP.

Patent

A patent protects a new invention. It is a written, legal document that explains what the invention is and must be registered. A patent can cover how the invention works, what it does, how it does it, what it is made of and how it is made. The owner of the patent is given a total monopoly over what is described in the patent and is given the right to stop others from making or exploiting the invention without permission.

Copyright

Copyright protects creative and aesthetic works such as books, songs and artistic works. Software is also primarily protected by copyright. Copyright arises automatically as soon as something is fixed or recorded and therefore there is no need to register copyright. Copyright stops a third party from copying what has been fixed or recorded. A copyright protected work must not be reproduced in any other medium so, for example, the copyright owner can stop a third party turning a book into a film or a CD to an online file.

Trademark

Trademarks protect the brand and reputation of their owner. It is a sign which distinguishes one’s goods and services from its competitors. A trademark can be registered or unregistered. It is harder to enforce unregistered rights against third parties as the scope of the right is less certain.

Design

Design rights protect the overall visual appearance of a product or a part of a product. Design rights can be registered or unregistered but are not recognized in every country. The same problems apply for unregistered design rights as for unregistered trademark rights.

How does the law protect IP?

All IP rights are territorial i.e. the laws of each country are only effective in that country. Countries around the world have their own intellectual property laws. However, the importance of intellectual property rights has prompted many countries to ratify international treaties in an attempt to harmonize the scope of such rights.

How do I apply for a patent?

The process of obtaining a patent can take a long time. Initially, a patent attorney who is skilled in writing patents will ask you to explain all of the new features of your invention that solve a particular problem. The patent attorney will then draft the patent application for you. The key skill of the patent attorney is to draft the claims that form the essential part of the patent application. The claims specify exactly what your patent application is intended to protect. Once the patent is drafted, it will be submitted to the patent office of the country where you wish to obtain patent protection. The patent office will examine your application and may ask you to amend your patent application and hopefully, the patent will be granted. On average, this could take anything from 2 to 8 years depending on which country you are trying to obtain protection in.

Once your patent is granted, your 20 year period of protection is deemed to start from the date of filing. Therefore, if you make your patent application, third parties will be aware that you intend to obtain protection (which you can enforce in the future). You may choose to submit the application to many countries and obtain protection all over the world. This can be expensive but for inventions that are particularly ground breaking, this may be essential to stop them from being copied.


Additional useful information can be found on the following websites:

The World Intellectual Property Office:
www.wipo.int

The US Patent Office:
http://www.uspto.gov/inventors/index.jsp

The European Patent Office:
www.EPO.org

UAE patent laws:
www.elaws.gov.ae/enlegislations.aspx

About the Patent Treaty Cooperation:
www.wipo.int/pct/en/